Douglas County Kansas Seal (home page)
Douglas County Kansas Header (home page)
Douglas County, Kansas

Friday, November 28, 2014 

Douglas County Kansas ONLINE

Forms & Documents
Section Home

Get Acrobat Reader (free)
Acrobat Reader is needed to view files in PDF format. Download a free copy by clicking the icon above.

Get Flash Player (free)
Flash Player is needed to view files in SWF format. Download a free copy by clicking the icon above.
You are here: Home Page > Departments > Administration > County Commission

This page contains information on the County Commission for Douglas County, Kansas.

Board of Commissioners

Commissioner Mike Gaughan - 1st District Commissioner Mike Gaughan - 1st District
Mike Gaughan represents the First District on the Douglas County Commission. Mike, his wife Julia and their son Kiernan live in Lawrence. Mike graduated from the University of Kansas in 2001 with a bachelor's degree in History and began his public service career in the summer and fall of 2002 as he left work every day to spend the afternoons and evenings with Julia at the Douglas County campaign headquarters for Kathleen Sebelius and Congressman Dennis Moore. In 2003, Mike began work for the Kansas Democratic Party and served as Executive Director from 2005 through 2008. Mike joined Governor Kathleen Sebe... Learn more >>
Commissioner Nancy Thellman - 3rd District (Chairman) Commissioner Nancy Thellman - 2nd District (Chairman)
Nancy Thellman, born and raised in Douglas County, represents the Second District as Douglas County Commissioner. She lives on a small farm north of Lawrence (Grant Township) with her husband, Scott, and their three children. Nancy was educated in Lawrence public schools, holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from Kansas University, and a Master of Divinity degree from Vanderbilt University. She is currently an ordained Presbyterian minister. ... Learn more >>
Commissioner Jim Flory - 3rd District (Vice-Chairman) Commissioner Jim Flory - 3rd District (Vice-Chairman)
Jim Flory is a life-long resident of Douglas County who currently lives in rural Douglas County with his wife, Donna. Jim attended Lawrence schools and received both his undergraduate degree and law degree from the University of Kansas. He retired from the U.S. Department of Justice in 2006, after serving 27 years as a prosecuting attorney. During his legal career, Jim was the District Attorney of Douglas County, Assistant Attorney General (Kansas), Assistant United States Attorney and the United States Attorney for the District of Kansas. Jim represents the 3rd District of Douglas County. His goal as coun... Learn more >>

Commission Meeting Information

Meeting Location
  • Douglas County Courthouse, 2nd Floor
  • 1100 Massachusetts Street, Lawrence, KS 66044
Meeting Times
The Douglas County Commission meets regularly two times on Wednesdays at 4:00pm (Administrative Items) and 6:35pm (Public Interest Items) at the Douglas County Courthouse.

Commission District Map

back to top