Douglas County Kansas Seal (home page)
Douglas County Kansas Header (home page)
Douglas County, Kansas

Sunday, November 23, 2014 

Douglas County Kansas ONLINE

You are here: Home Page > Departments > Administration > Sustainability > Food Policy Council

This page contains information on the Food Policy Council of Douglas County, Kansas.

Welcome to the homepage of the Douglas County Food Policy Council. Established by the County Commission in September, 2009, the Food Policy Council seeks to identify the benefits, challenges and opportunities for a successful, sustainable local food system in Douglas County.

The FPC will serve as a forum for discussion and coordination for community-wide efforts to improve the Douglas County community's access to local food supply and distribution networks. Therefore, the FPC will focus on the following priority areas:
  1. Economic development and entrepreneurial opportunities related to local food production and consumption
  2. Improved health outcomes
  3. Positive environmental quality impacts
  4. Increased access to, and distribution of wholesome, local food
  5. Support for local producers of sustainable food products
  6. Identification, preservation, and/or sustainable development of local resources including soil, agricultural land, important breeds/cultivars, water, skilled labor, capital, and markets
  7. Increased education and awareness on the part of Douglas County residents regarding the benefits of locally produced foods

Forms & Documents

Food Policy Council Roster

  • Greg Shipe (Ag Producer)
  • Jill Elmers (Ag Producer)
  • Diane Fishburn (Ag Producer)
  • Rita York (Retail Food: The Merc)
  • Jan Hornberger (Retail Food: Hy-Vee)
  • Rick Martin (Retail Food: Limestone Restaurant)
  • Paula Murish (Food Service Director, Lawrence Public Schools)
  • Kim Criner (JCCC Sustainability Education Coordinator)
  • Bill Wood (KSU Extension Douglas County)
  • Daniel Poull (City Sustainability Advisory Board)
  • Pattie Johnston (Douglas County Senior Services)
  • Teresa Flory (Ag Producer)
  • Emily Hampton (DCCDA)
  • Carol Gilmore (Registered dietician)
  • Bob Lominska (Kansas Rural Center)
  • Jen Humphrey (Downtown Lawrence Farmers Market)
  • Brady Pollington (Lawrence Chamber of Commerce)
  • Jason Hering (Youth representative)
  • Brenna Wulfkuhle (At-Large Member)
  • Dennis "Boog" Highberger (At-Large Member)
  • Ashley Jones-Wisener (At-Large Member)
  • Chris Tilden (Douglas County Health Dept.)
  • Elizabeth Stewart (Sunflower Foundation)
  • Douglas County Staff: Eileen Horn, Sustainability Coordinator
  • City/County Planning Staff: Amy Miller, Planner II

Meeting Schedule
Date Time(s) Location
Monday, December 15th, 2014 7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. To Be Announced

Archived Agendas
File Name Format
FPC Agenda: Tuesday, March 4th, 2014 PDF
FPC Agenda: Monday, February 17th, 2014 PDF
FPC Agenda: Monday, January 20st, 2014 PDF
FPC Agendas: 2013 PDF
FPC Agendas: 2012 PDF
FPC Agendas: 2011 PDF
FPC Agendas: 2010 PDF
FPC Agendas: 2009 PDF

Archived Meeting Notes
File Name Format
FPC Meeting Notes: January 20th, 2014 PDF
FPC Meeting Notes: 2013 PDF
FPC Meeting Notes: 2012 PDF
FPC Meeting Notes: 2011 PDF
FPC Meeting Notes: 2010 PDF
FPC Meeting Notes: 2009 PDF

Contact Information

  • Eileen Horn, Sustainability Coordinator
  • (785) 330-2873